October 19, 2016

[transcript from video]

“Well, I just want to first give praise to God, He’s so good. This is Alexis, my daughter. She’s 16 and I have a testimony about abortions. When I was pregnant with her, I was pretty sick. The doctor told me that either I had to get an abortion because either I was going to die or she was going to die. It was pretty much a 100% guarantee that one of us was going to die. I had two other kids that were pretty little, so it was a decision whether my two kids that had me already needed me or whether I was going to risk my life for her.

And I did choose to go ahead and make an appointment for the abortion. I was supposed to go up on a Friday in San Diego and have the abortion. We lived in Arizona and the closest place was San Diego. So, I made the appointment. My mom and my best friend were going to go with me to have the procedure.

But I was going to college in [Imperial, California] for teaching. And I had a health teacher that was named Mr. Dale and he was a Christian. He talked about abortions all day on Wednesday and all the class on Monday and Wednesday. All he talked about was the negative of abortions, how it was a sin, and it was murder, and it really stuck with me. So I decided not to have the abortion. I cancelled the appointment on a Friday and didn’t go.

I said, “Okay, Lord, this is what we’re going to do. We’re going to take the decision and we’re going to leave it in your hands.”

The whole time I was pregnant I never did bond with her because I was afraid I was going to lose her. So, it was just like something inside of me. And then, she was born.

I had her at 7 1/2 months. When I was 7 1/2 months they flew me to San Diego to have her and she was born. The only thing wrong with her was her sugar was low from the potassium that they had been giving me. She was one ounce shy of five pounds. They didn’t think she was going to be over a pound when they flew me.

Now she’s 16 years old, she’s been to the Little Britches Finals twice, she’s never been sick, she has asthma, but she’s never had an asthma attack. The Lord just… it was just awesome because I followed my gut instinct and didn’t have it and here she is. When she was two months old she looked up at me and my husband when she was laying in the bed with us and smiled. And I looked at my husband and I said to him, “And to think that we were going to kill her…”

And it’s just, ya know, God’s good. And I just want to say for anyone out there that may be deciding to vote for Hillary or even in the position where they may have to have an abortion, don’t do it. If you can’t take care of the baby, there’s someone out there that will. It’s just an amazing thing to have a child who is 16 years old that I almost did make the choice of killing her. God is good and she’s been a blessing to our family ever since she was born. She’s amazing. We love her. And we love God too.”

Nina Dees

